About Us

What’s in a Name? – Fraussies – Having family both here in Australia and France we have a strong connection to the two countries, hence the name Fr (France) aussies (Australia)

We have been housesitting now casually, both here in Australia and overseas since 2013 and full time since 2016. We both hold European and Australian Citizenship.

Our home is on the Redcliffe Peninsula, in Queensland, Australia. It is approximately 40 minutes outside of Brisbane City Centre.  Here we enjoy a very relaxed life style by the sea. With both taking early retirement we felt that it was an ideal time to satisfy our love of travelling and house sitting allows us to do this.

Gail was born in Brisbane, Australia. During her childhood and later years has owned various pets including dogs, cats, birds, fish and chickens. Her interests include travel, reading, walking, gardening and cooking.

Gail’s background is in Office Administration. Her first position was in the print media industry and then with the State electricity company.  Her last position of eight years, which she loved, was in administration for a large Community Nursing provider.

Married for 14 years, they do not have any children together but Gail has two adult daughters who both live on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

Bruno was born in Monterosso, Calabria, Italy. The family left Italy to live in France in his younger years and he emigrated to Australia at the age of 22. He speaks fluent French and English, understands Italian perfectly and speaks basic Italian. 

Bruno was trained as a motor mechanic and was employed in this field both in France, and here in Australia. While living in Mount Isa, Nth West Queensland he owned and operated his own successful cleaning business. Since moving to Brisbane he has owned and operated several successful cafes until his retirement.

Over the years Bruno has renovated several properties and is very confident and experienced in that area. This of course is apart from making a very mean coffee!

Bruno has also owned various pets over the years which have included dogs, cats, chickens, goats and rabbits. His interests include travel, renovating properties, gardening, cooking, reading and walking.